Latest News


Term 1 Week 4 e-News Update


THE AUSTRALIAN CURRICULUM An overview for parents

The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and become active and informed citizens.

It sets the goal for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life – wherever they live in Australia and whatever school they attend.

What are the learning areas of the Australian Curriculum?

From the first year of schooling to Year 10, students develop knowledge and skills in eight learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education (HPE)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Languages

In our Catholic schools, all curriculum areas have a religious dimension and Religious Education is taught as a core curriculum area.  

To find specific information about the Australian Curriculum for your child's year level click on the information sheets below.

Information for parents Foundation year

Information for parents years 1–2

Information for parents years 3–4

Information for parents years 5–6

Information for parents years 7–8

Information for parents years 9–10